+29 % change
Extra-EU imports of CN 90221400 were up 29% in 2025 compared with 2020 (€448.4 million), calculated from Eurostat values.
Eurostat2.62 EUR billion
EU exports of CN 90221400 to countries outside the EU were worth €2.62 billion in 2025.
Eurostat817.0 EUR million
Trade between EU member states in CN 90221400 (intra-EU arrivals) came to €817.0 million in 2025.
EurostatSource: Eurostat
Why this market is moving now
- Extra-EU import value moved +29% from 2020 to 2025, a direct read on EU demand for sourced supply.
- Supply is concentrated: one country provided a large share of extra-EU imports in 2025.
- US employment in the core industry shifted -9% since 2020.
- Clinical research is active, with studies recruiting now.
What this market covers
Scanners that measure bone mineral density to diagnose osteoporosis and track fracture risk. Buyers are hospitals, imaging centers and clinics.
Typical segments
- DEXA scanners
- Ultrasound densitometers
- Peripheral densitometers
- Portable heel scanners
Who buys
- Hospitals
- Imaging centers
- Orthopedic clinics
Largest non-EU suppliers to the EU
| Country | Import value |
|---|---|
| United States from 1995 -> 2000) | 210.8 EUR million |
| United Kingdom | 151.4 EUR million |
| China | 91.9 EUR million |
| Countries and territories not specified within the framework of intra-Union trade | 40.7 EUR million |
| Mexico | 36.8 EUR million |
| Korea, Republic of | 33.6 EUR million |
Key figures
Each figure links to the page it came from.
| Figure | Value | Year | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| The EU imported €579.6 million of products under CN code 90221400 (Apparatus based on the use of X-rays, for medical, surgical or veterinary uses) from outside the EU in 2025. | 579.6 EUR million | 2025 | Eurostat |
| Extra-EU imports of CN 90221400 were up 29% in 2025 compared with 2020 (€448.4 million), calculated from Eurostat values. | +29 % change | 2025 | Eurostat |
| EU exports of CN 90221400 to countries outside the EU were worth €2.62 billion in 2025. | 2.62 EUR billion | 2025 | Eurostat |
| Trade between EU member states in CN 90221400 (intra-EU arrivals) came to €817.0 million in 2025. | 817.0 EUR million | 2025 | Eurostat |
| United States from 1995 -> 2000) was the largest non-EU supplier of CN 90221400 to the EU in 2025, with €210.8 million, or 36% of extra-EU imports. | 210.8 EUR million | 2025 | Eurostat |
| EU exports of CN 90221400 to the United States were €964.9 million in 2025. | 964.9 EUR million | 2025 | Eurostat |
| The average value of extra-EU imports of CN 90221400 was €99.96 per kilogram in 2025, calculated from Eurostat value and weight. | 99.96 EUR per kg | 2025 | Eurostat |
| Netherlands was the largest EU exporter of CN 90221400 to non-EU countries in 2025, at €1.15 billion. | 1.15 EUR billion | 2025 | Eurostat |
| The EU had 1,791 enterprises in NACE class C2660 (Manufacture of irradiation, electromedical and electrotherapeutic equipment) in 2023. | 1,791 enterprises | 2023 | Eurostat |
| EU enterprises in NACE class C2660 had net turnover of €30.54 billion in 2023. | 30.54 EUR billion | 2023 | Eurostat |
| NACE class C2660 employed 74,126 people across the EU in 2021. | 74,126 persons employed | 2021 | Eurostat |
| The US had 298 private establishments in NAICS 334517 (Irradiation apparatus manufacturing) in 2025. | 298 establishments | 2025 | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics |
| NAICS 334517 employed an average of 12,771 people in US private industry in 2025. | 12,771 jobs | 2025 | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics |
| US employment in NAICS 334517 changed by -9% between 2020 (13,969 jobs) and 2025, calculated from BLS figures. | -9 % change | 2025 | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics |
| Average annual pay in US NAICS 334517 was $135,443 in 2025. | 135,443 USD per year | 2025 | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics |
| The FDA has recorded 46 510(k) clearances for devices named "bone densitometer". | 46 510(k) clearances | 2026 | U.S. Food and Drug Administration (openFDA) |
| Hologic, Inc. holds 14 510(k) clearances for devices named "bone densitometer". | 14 510(k) clearances | 2026 | U.S. Food and Drug Administration (openFDA) |
| Norland Corp. holds 8 510(k) clearances for devices named "bone densitometer". | 8 510(k) clearances | 2026 | U.S. Food and Drug Administration (openFDA) |
| Amersham Corp. holds 4 510(k) clearances for devices named "bone densitometer". | 4 510(k) clearances | 2026 | U.S. Food and Drug Administration (openFDA) |
| Lunar Corp. holds 4 510(k) clearances for devices named "bone densitometer". | 4 510(k) clearances | 2026 | U.S. Food and Drug Administration (openFDA) |
| Schick Technologies, Inc. holds 3 510(k) clearances for devices named "bone densitometer". | 3 510(k) clearances | 2026 | U.S. Food and Drug Administration (openFDA) |
| Lunar holds 2 510(k) clearances for devices named "bone densitometer". | 2 510(k) clearances | 2026 | U.S. Food and Drug Administration (openFDA) |
| ClinicalTrials.gov lists 1,913 registered studies for the condition "osteoporosis". | 1,913 registered studies | 2026 | U.S. National Library of Medicine (ClinicalTrials.gov) |
| 116 of those studies were recruiting participants when checked in November 2026. | 116 recruiting studies | 2026 | U.S. National Library of Medicine (ClinicalTrials.gov) |
Companies to watch
Hologic, Inc.
14 FDA 510(k) clearances for devices named "bone densitometer".
Norland Corp.
8 FDA 510(k) clearances for devices named "bone densitometer".
Amersham Corp.
4 FDA 510(k) clearances for devices named "bone densitometer".
Lunar Corp.
4 FDA 510(k) clearances for devices named "bone densitometer".
Schick Technologies, Inc.
3 FDA 510(k) clearances for devices named "bone densitometer".
Lunar
2 FDA 510(k) clearances for devices named "bone densitometer".
What the full report covers
- 1
Executive summary
The answer on two pages: size, growth and what drives it.
- 2
Market size and outlook
History, the current year and a five-year view with base, low and high cases.
- 3
Segments and regions
Splits by product, buyer and geography across the US, Europe and MEA.
- 4
Company profiles
The main players, how they compete and where they are investing.
- 5
Data and method
Every figure in Excel, with the sources and assumptions behind it.
- 01Executive summary
The answer in one page: size, direction and what moves it - 02Market definition and scope
What is in and out of the European Union market - 03Market size, 2021 to 2025
Historical series and growth rates - 04Outlook to 2031
Base, low and high scenarios with stated assumptions - 05Rules, policy and deadlines
Regulation and programmes that change demand - 06Drivers and barriers
What accelerates or slows adoption, by customer segment - 07Prices, costs and margins
Unit economics where public data allows - 08Competitive landscape
8 to 12 company profiles with recent moves - 09Opportunities and risks
For new entrants, suppliers and investors - 10Method and sources
Every assumption and source, listed
Included with the full report
- PDF report, 40 to 60 pages
- Excel data pack
- Ready-to-use charts
- Method note and assumptions
- Written to order in 5 working days
Frequently asked questions
How big is the EU bone densitometer market?
There is no single official market total. Eurostat trade data shows the EU imported €579.6 million of goods under CN 90221400 from outside the EU in 2025 and exported €2.62 billion.
Where does the EU import bone densitometer from?
United States from 1995 -> 2000) was the largest non-EU supplier in 2025. The next largest were United Kingdom, China, Countries and territories not specified within the framework of intra-Union trade.
What is the average import price of bone densitometer in the EU?
Dividing Eurostat import value by weight gives about €99.96 per kilogram for CN 90221400 in 2025.
Which EU countries export the most bone densitometer?
Netherlands led EU exports to non-EU countries in 2025, followed by Germany, France.
How many bone densitometer devices are cleared by the FDA?
openFDA lists 46 510(k) clearances for devices named bone densitometer.
Which companies hold the most FDA clearances for bone densitometer?
By 510(k) count: Hologic, Inc., Norland Corp., Amersham Corp., Lunar Corp..
Sources and method
The figures on this page come from the public sources listed below. Read how we work.
- Eurostat: EU trade since 1988 by HS2-4-6 and CN8 (DS-045409) (2026-11-04)
DS-045409, reporter EU27_2020, product 90221400, partner EXT_EU27_2020, flow import, 2025, VALUE_IN_EUROS 579627634
- Eurostat: EU trade since 1988 by HS2-4-6 and CN8 (DS-045409) (2026-11-04)
DS-045409, reporter EU27_2020, product 90221400, flow import, 2020 VALUE_IN_EUROS 448387052; 2025 VALUE_IN_EUROS 579627634
- Eurostat: EU trade since 1988 by HS2-4-6 and CN8 (DS-045409) (2026-11-04)
DS-045409, reporter EU27_2020, product 90221400, partner EXT_EU27_2020, flow export, 2025, VALUE_IN_EUROS 2619314354
- Eurostat: EU trade since 1988 by HS2-4-6 and CN8 (DS-045409) (2026-11-04)
DS-045409, reporter EU27_2020, product 90221400, partner INT_EU27_2020, flow import, 2025, VALUE_IN_EUROS 816982865
- Eurostat: EU trade since 1988 by HS2-4-6 and CN8 (DS-045409) (2026-11-04)
DS-045409, reporter EU27_2020, product 90221400, partner US, flow import, 2025, VALUE_IN_EUROS 210753868
- Eurostat: EU trade since 1988 by HS2-4-6 and CN8 (DS-045409) (2026-11-04)
DS-045409, reporter EU27_2020, product 90221400, partner US, flow export, 2025, VALUE_IN_EUROS 964882441
- Eurostat: EU trade since 1988 by HS2-4-6 and CN8 (DS-045409) (2026-11-04)
DS-045409, reporter EU27_2020, product 90221400, flow import, 2025, VALUE_IN_EUROS 579627634, QUANTITY_IN_100KG 57983
- Eurostat: EU trade since 1988 by HS2-4-6 and CN8 (DS-045409) (2026-11-04)
DS-045409, reporter NL, product 90221400, partner EXT_EU27_2020, flow export, 2025, VALUE_IN_EUROS 1152153207
- Eurostat: Enterprises by detailed NACE Rev. 2 activity and special aggregates (sbs_ovw_act) (2026-11-04)
sbs_ovw_act, geo EU27_2020, nace_r2 C2660, indic_sbs ENT_NR, 2023, 1791
- Eurostat: Enterprises by detailed NACE Rev. 2 activity and special aggregates (sbs_ovw_act) (2026-11-04)
sbs_ovw_act, geo EU27_2020, nace_r2 C2660, indic_sbs NETTUR_MEUR, 2023, 30540
- Eurostat: Enterprises by detailed NACE Rev. 2 activity and special aggregates (sbs_ovw_act) (2026-11-04)
sbs_ovw_act, geo EU27_2020, nace_r2 C2660, indic_sbs EMP_NR, 2021, 74126
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: QCEW annual averages, NAICS 334517, 2025 (2026-11-04)
QCEW 2025 annual, US000, private, NAICS 334517, annual_avg_estabs 298
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: QCEW annual averages, NAICS 334517, 2025 (2026-11-04)
QCEW 2025 annual, US000, private, NAICS 334517, annual_avg_emplvl 12771
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: QCEW annual averages, NAICS 334517, 2025 (2026-11-04)
QCEW 2020 annual_avg_emplvl 13969; 2025 annual_avg_emplvl 12771
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: QCEW annual averages, NAICS 334517, 2025 (2026-11-04)
QCEW 2025 annual, US000, private, NAICS 334517, avg_annual_pay 135443
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (openFDA): openFDA 510(k) clearances, device_name "bone densitometer" (2026-11-04)
openFDA device/510k device_name:"bone densitometer", sum of counts by decision_date = 46
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (openFDA): openFDA 510(k) clearances by applicant, device_name "bone densitometer" (2026-11-04)
applicant.exact "Hologic, Inc." count 14
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (openFDA): openFDA 510(k) clearances by applicant, device_name "bone densitometer" (2026-11-04)
applicant.exact "Norland Corp." count 8
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (openFDA): openFDA 510(k) clearances by applicant, device_name "bone densitometer" (2026-11-04)
applicant.exact "Amersham Corp." count 4
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (openFDA): openFDA 510(k) clearances by applicant, device_name "bone densitometer" (2026-11-04)
applicant.exact "Lunar Corp." count 4
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (openFDA): openFDA 510(k) clearances by applicant, device_name "bone densitometer" (2026-11-04)
applicant.exact "Schick Technologies, Inc." count 3
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (openFDA): openFDA 510(k) clearances by applicant, device_name "bone densitometer" (2026-11-04)
applicant.exact "Lunar" count 2
- U.S. National Library of Medicine (ClinicalTrials.gov): ClinicalTrials.gov API v2, condition "osteoporosis" (2026-11-04)
query.cond=osteoporosis totalCount 1913
- U.S. National Library of Medicine (ClinicalTrials.gov): ClinicalTrials.gov API v2, condition "osteoporosis", status recruiting (2026-11-04)
filter.overallStatus=RECRUITING totalCount 116
Free sample
Get a free sample of this report
We send the table of contents, two sample chapters and the method note, usually within one working day. You owe us nothing for asking.
- Full table of contents
- Two sample chapters
- Method note and data outline